St. John Catholic Church History

The Catholic community of Blairstown was first served as a mission parish of Tama in the 1890s and then a mission parish of Watkins beginning in 1912 and lasting for three decades. The first Mass of the parish of St. John was held in the American Legion Hall on August 19, 1945, while church construction was underway. In 1947, the first Mass was said in the church basement.

St. John Catholic Church was dedicated in 1948 by Archbishop Henry P. Rohlman who commended the parish community for their motivation and perseverance in reorganizing the Catholic Church in Blairstown. He applauded the building committee and charter members for their accomplishment in completing the new church structure.

St. John Catholic Church remained an independent parish until 1986, except for a brief period in 1950 when the parish was served by Newhall. From 1986 to 1993, St. John existed as part of the 5-Alive Parishes with Norway, Watkins, Newhall and Van Horne. In 1993, St. John Church became part of the Tri-Parish with St. Paul’s and Immaculate Conception. In 2003, St. John was once again clustered in a group of five parishes, including Norway, Watkins, Newhall and Van Horne, now known as the Queen of Saints.